Aaron’s Landscape: Urban

Yesterday, Lee and I went to Jackson, MI. We walked around and took a bunch of pictures for this week’s challenge, which was technically “urbanscape”, but Jackson, MI does not have much urbanscape, so we changed it to just urban. We focused on the downtown area, which has a number of cool buildings.

I find that I am not great at taking pictures of buildings, since I almost always simply want to take the most symmetric, clean lines, picture that I can take, which is mostly impossible because of spatial constraints. You can’t back up far enough, or get up high enough to get all lines being straight or consistent. Then you throw in cars in parking lots and trees and other visual clutter and it makes it quite challenging. I probably need to (a) look at more urban pictures to get motivation, (b) practice a lot more, and (c) relax my narrow mindset on what makes a good urban picture.

I took about 80 shots, immediately deleted about 50 of them, and processed about 15 of them, and like a few of them.  The most common picture that I took was of fire escapes, which are very cool geometric shapes. I got a few interesting pictures, which you can see on my smugmug page.

I always struggle with choosing one picture, so I will keep up that tradition and have two. The first is of my favorite building in downtown Jackson, while the second is a picture of Lee.

IMG_2391
A fire escape on a building in downtown Jackson, MI.
IMG_2399
Lee taking pictures with some sort of film camera. Film. Crazy.
Leave a Reply

